Marijuana Laws in Utah

Utah is located between two countries that treat marijuana ownership very differently. On the western boundary of this Beehive State is Nevada, where Nevada Medical Marijuana Program (NMMP) cardholders may legitimately have 2 1/2 ounces of usable marijuana at any one 14 day interval. On the east is Colorado, which in 2014 became the first state in the nation to legalize the recreational use of cannabis.

Individuals passing through the Salt Lake City area needs to bear in mind that marijuana remains a regulated substance in Utah. Whether folks simply have the medication in their possession or they're trying to market it within the nation, criminal charges might lead to.
Utah Code § 58-37-2 says that marijuana is described as"all types of the genus cannabis and all areas of the genus, whether growing or not." This not only contains the plant, but each chemical and some other artificial equivalents. Under Utah Code § 58-37-8, Someone can face the following penalties for knowingly and intentionally possessing marijuana in Utah:
Greater than 1 ounce of bud - Class B misdemeanor for initial certainty, class A misdemeanor for Another conviction, third degree felony for a third or subsequent conviction
Greater than 1 ounce, but less than 16 oz - Class A misdemeanor
Greater than 16 ounces, but less than 100 lbs - Third degree felony
100 Pounds or more - Second level felony
If Someone is convicted of cannabis possession, the impacts depend on the type of this crime:
Class B Misdemeanor - up to 6 months in prison and $1,000 fine
Class A Misdemeanor - up to 12 weeks in prison and $2,500 fine
Third Degree Felony - up to five years in prison and $5,000 fine
Second Degree Felony - Up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 fine
In Addition, a marijuana possession charge may be subject to enhanced penalties when an alleged sale happened within the Existence of a small or within 1,000 ft of the subsequent"drug-free" places:
Amusement Park
Public Park
Public Parking Lot
Recreation Center
Shopping Theater
Sports Facility


Any of those enhanced fees can activate the amount of this crime to the next greatest level, except at first level felony cases which will end in a five-year required minimum prison sentence. Prosecutors still need to satisfy their burdens of proof when trying to control a individual who has possession of marijuana or intention to disperse, and it's necessary to see that any mistakes police officers create during the arrest procedure may result in signs being suppressed along with the fees against somebody being disregarded.