The State of Mississippi requires a dim view of the majority of marijuana-related offenses. Though the rest of the nation appears to develop increasingly more innovative laws regarding marijuana possession, use, or purchase, Mississippi asserts that marijuana is a medication nearly like any other, and it's illegal inside the nation. The country decriminalized possession of small quantities of marijuana for private use, arrest and prosecution for people caught for sale and distribution stay the attention of most law enforcement attempts
The laws regarding the quantity and intent of somebody with bud in Mississippi are ordered to reflect an understanding that drug offenses aren't made equal, and that a few are more serious than others. To this end, based upon the specifics of a circumstance, 1 marijuana arrest instance might change greatly from one which originally sounds very similar. As an instance:
Initial offense of use or possession or use of less than 30 grams (just over one ounce) of marijuana is a non-arrest misdemeanor with no jail time and a fine of $100-$250. Subsequent crimes double the initial crime penalties, however more than 1 conviction in two decades includes a $250 fine and less than five nor more than 60 days in the county jail.
Possessing over 30 grams of marijuana in Mississippi is a really serious crime really. Even ownership of 31 g is a felony, punishable by three years in prison and a $3,000 fine, and bigger numbers are subject to longer prison terms as well as $1,000,000 in penalties.
Selling or bringing any quantity of marijuana in Mississippi is an automatic felony, and includes numerous severe penalties based on the sum, and also the place. Conviction of selling less than an ounce of bud in Mississippi may just lead to a 3 year sentence and a $3,000 fine, however if it's sold to a small that doubles the penalty, and when marketed in 1,500 feet of a school, church, or other court-sanctioned place it doubles the punishment too. On an interesting note, a individual can't be charged with possession of paraphernalia when they had been charged with possession of under an ounce of marijuana.